HISTORY

THE COTEAUX DES BARONNIES :
MORE THAN 700 YEARS OF HISTORY CENTRED AROUND WIN

The Gallo-Roman
Era
It seems thatthe works of Pliny the Elder already mention the fact that wines had been made in the Baronnies since the Gallo-Roman Era. Archaeological discoveries prove that wine was indeed present at this time and that bread, olive oil as well as wine, the staple trilogy of the Mediterranean diet, have been consumed for 2,000 years.
The Middle
Ages
In the Middle Ages, the vine was present everywhere. As early as the end of the 10th century in the region of Nyons, where, at Saint-Auban-sur-l'Ouvèze in 1060, mediaeval charters referred to the rights of lords and monks over wine and vines. Numerous monks received a grape harvest tithe. At this time, vines were planted on well-exposed slopes which were sometimes transformed into terraces, as was the case at Rochebrune. The wine was distributed to inns and cabarets, sometimes in bottles, as at Mirabel-aux-Baronnies, and its sales represented a source of revenue for local communities.
18th
Century
Dominican monks. The vineyard was widely cultivated by Dominican monks. Under their influence, the vineyard developed and continued to do so over the centuries.
19th
Century
The destruction of the vineyard. A large part of the vineyard was destroyed by the extremely cold weather of 1832. Plantings increased into the middle of the century, despite the appearance of oidium. This was followed by the phylloxera crisis of 1870, which decimated these lucrative plantings, as it did in most other French vineyards. The viticultural crisis had thus begun. In Drôme, two thirds of the surface area planted disappeared in ten years.
20th
Century
The start of a new era. The vineyard rose from the ashes. The first cooperative cellars gradually came into being, such as the one in Nyons, created in 1923. From decade to decade, viticultural activity began to take shape again.
The
Seventies
The Baronnies took off. The Association for the Defence of the Producers of the Coteaux des Baronnies was created in 1974. The setting-up of the first private cellars contributed to the increasing reputation of the wines of the area. The publication of the decree (cf. Going further - Decree) delimited the geographical area of the vineyard of the Baronnies. It stood apart within the vin de pays category, thanks to the richness of its terroir and its distinct style. This distinction was given the seal of approval which became the signature of the wines of an appellation "Vin de Pays Coteaux des Baronnies", which would later be renamed "Indication Géographique Protégée (Protected Geographical Indication) Coteaux des Baronnies".
The
Eighties
In search of quality. The Coteaux des Baronnies developed by means of a programme of experimentation with different grape varieties and then a programme of restructuring, thus choosing to go down the road of quality rather than that of quantity. The Baronnies sought to be different by choosing grape varieties adapted to this countryside of altitude and by attempting to stress their exceptional terroir.
The
Nineties
Restructuring of the vineyard. Thanks to a system of pulling up and replanting, this decade made it possible to adapt the viticulture to this mountainous region. The grape varieties were selected with care, so that the wines made could achieve perfection. With the new plantings of Gamay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay springing up here and there, a wind of change was blowing. The blending possibilities gave the artisan vine-growers the freedom to create cuvées rich in expressiveness. It was their love for this terroir, with its superb qualities, that gave producers the incentive to take it to the limit. The Coteaux des Baronnies experimented, micro-vinified, unceasingly learning and questioning their work to allow the terroir to express itself.
The
2000's
Aspiring to an area of appellation. This is a place distinguished by its microclimate, vinification and unusual soils. The producers were seeking recognition for their area of production through an appellation of origin. The grape varieties grown – Chardonnay, Viognier, Roussanne and Marsanne for the white wines, Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Grenache for the reds and rosés – showed good capacity to flourish at these altitudes. Faced with a market undergoing a radical transformation, the Coteaux des Baronnies suffered, but this magic area, "Grandeur Nature", became a centre of gravity. The producers were coming together, the younger generation was returning with its new ideas and the vineyard was preserved. The project to create a Provençal Baronnies regional nature park was started in 2008 and aimed to promote the activities and products of this still unspoilt terroir. Not only was nature supporting the economy, it was offering a new way forward.
TODAY
A structured vineyard of more than 500 hectares (1,235 acres). A structured vineyard of more than 500 hectares (1,235 acres).

HISTOIRE

LES COTEAUX DES BARONNIES :
PLUS DE 700 ANS D'HISTOIRE CENTREE AUTOUR DU VIN

EPOQUE
GALLO-ROMAINE
Les écrits de Pline l'Ancien mentionneraient déjà la confection de vins dans les Baronnies depuis la période gallo-romaine. Les découvertes archéologiques attestent de l'effective présence de vin à cette époque et d'une consommation de pain, huile d'olive, et vin, trilogie méditerranéenne base de l'alimentation depuis 2000 ans.
MOYEN
AGE
Au Moyen Age, la vigne est omniprésente. Dès la fin du Xème siècle dans le nyonsais où en 1060 à Saint-Auban-sur-l'Ouvèze, les chartes médiévales mentionnent les droits des seigneurs et des religieux sur le vin et la vigne. Nombre de religieux perçoivent la dîme des vendanges. Les vignes sont alors plantées sur des versants bien exposés et parfois aménagés en terrasses, comme à Rochebrune. Le vin est distribué dans les auberges et cabarets, parfois à la bouteille comme à Mirabel-aux-Baronnies, et sa vente constitue une des ressources des communautés locales.
XVIIIème
SIECLE
Les pères Dominicains. Le vignoble est largement cultivé par les pères Dominicains. C'est sous leur influence que le vignoble se développe et continuera de le faire au fil des siècles.
XIXème
SIECLE
La destruction du vignoble. Une grande partie des vignes est détruite par le froid très vigoureux de 1832. Les plantations s'accroissent jusqu'au milieu du siècle malgré l'apparition de l'oïdium. S'ensuit la crise du phylloxéra de 1870 qui, comme dans la majorité des autres vignobles français, décime les lucratives plantations. La crise viticole est alors amorcée. Dans la Drôme, ce sont les deux tiers des surfaces qui disparaissent en dix ans.
XXème
SIECLE
Le début d'une ère nouvelle. Le vignoble renaît de ses cendres. Les premières caves coopératives voient peu à peu le jour telle celle de Nyons créée en 1923. Une activité viticole reprend forme et se développe de décennies en décennie.
ANNEES
70
Les Baronnies prennent leur envol. Le Syndicat de Défense des Producteurs des Coteaux des Baronnies est créé en 1974. Les premières installations de caves particulières participent à la croissance de la notoriété des vins du bassin. La publication du décret (cf. Pour aller plus loin – Décret) délimite la zone géographique du vignoble des Baronnies. Les Baronnies se distinguent dans la catégorie vins de pays par la richesse de son terroir, par sa typicité. Cette distinction est scellée et signe dès lors les vins d'une dénomination « Vin de Pays Coteaux des Baronnies » rebaptisée plus tard Indication Géographique Protégée (IGP) Coteaux des Baronnies.
ANNEES
80
La quête de la qualité. Les Coteaux des Baronnies se développent par le biais d'un programme d'expérimentation des cépages, puis grâce à un programme de restructuration et optent ainsi pour la voie qualitative plutôt que quantitative. Les Baronnies cherchent à se différencier par un encépagement adapté à ce paysage d'altitude et cherchent à faire valoir un terroir d'exception.
ANNEES
90
Restructuration du vignoble. Cette décennie permet par un système d'arrachage et de replantation, d'adapter la viticulture à cette zone montagneuse. Les cépages sont sélectionnés avec attention pour sublimer les vins confectionnés. Un vent de renouveau souffle avec ces nouvelles plantations qui jaillissent ici et là de Gamay, Merlot, Cabernet-Sauvignon et Chardonnay. Les possibilités d'assemblages laissent la liberté aux artisans du vin de façonner des cuvées riches d'expressivité. C'est l'amour d'un terroir aux superbes qualités qui motive les producteurs à le sublimer. Les Coteaux des Baronnies expérimentent, micro-vinifient, ne cessent d'apprendre et se remettent en question pour laisser parler le terroir.
ANNEES
2000
Prétention à l'aire d'appellations. Microclimat, vinification, et terres atypiques distinguent ce lieu. Les producteurs souhaitent une reconnaissance de leur bassin de production au rang d'appellation d'origine. Les cépages Chardonnay, Viognier, Roussanne, Marsanne, pour les blancs, et Syrah, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot, Grenache pour les rouges et rosés montrent une belle aptitude d'épanouissement dans ces altitudes. Face à un marché en profonde mutation, les Coteaux des Baronnies souffrent mais ce lieu magique « Grandeur Nature » exerce un pouvoir de gravité. Les producteurs se concentrent, les jeunes reviennent avec des idées nouvelles et le vignoble est préservé. Le projet de Parc Naturel Régional des Baronnies Provencal est ouvert en 2008 et vise alors à promouvoir les activités et produits de ce terroir encore si préservé. Plus qu'un support à l'economie locale, la nature offre un nouveau devenir.
AUJOURD'HUI
Un vignoble structuré de plus de 500 hectares. Les Coteaux des Baronnies se composent d'hommes et de femmes motivés, centrés autour d'un objectif commun. Ils exacerbent avec minutie un riche terroir au charisme indéniable.